Thursday, 11 May 2017

That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.
That Thing We Call a Heart
Blurb (from Goodreads):
This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.

Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.

In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.

That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.


That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

My rating: 3.12 of 5 stars


That Thing We Call a Heart “Tell him, I thought. What do you have to lose?
My pride, for one. And that thing we call a heart.”


This was a YA contemporary story about a Pakistani-American girl called Shabnam, who had a summer romance.

Shabnam was an okay character, although I didn’t like the way she made up a story about her great-uncle and his experiences during Partition. I also thought it was a little silly of her to let something like a headscarf come between her and her best friend, surely she should have just accepted her friend for who she was regardless of whether she was Muslim or wore a hijab?

The storyline in this was about Shabnam meeting a boy called Jamie over the summer before going to university, and falling in love. There was some Urdu poetry involved, and a storyline about how Shabnam had fallen out with her best friend because she chose to wear a hijab, but mostly it was about Shabnam falling for Jamie, and Jamie not telling her that he loved her back. I did appreciate the friendship between Shabnam and Farah when it was back on though, and it was interesting to read a book with a Pakistani-American main character.

The ending to this was alright, although it wasn’t exactly a happily ever after.



6.25 out of 10

No comments:

Post a Comment