Monday, 7 May 2012

M. Terry Green Author of the 'Olivia Lawson Techno Shaman' series - Reviews and Interview

I was recently asked to review two books, which are the first two books in the 'Olivia Lawson - Techno Shaman' series, and I am so pleased that I did!

Below are the reviews for the two books along with a short interview with the author M. Terry Green, who is so cool! M. Terry Green

These books are great and I really can't wait to get my hands on the next installment!

Fans of Kelley Armstrong, Laurel K Hamilton etc will not be disappointed!




Shaman, Healer, HereticShaman, Healer, Heretic by M. Terry Green
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(I was given this book for free on a read-to-review basis.)
Olivia Lawson (Livvy) is a techno-shamen. (Not heard of one of these before? Neither had I!) This involves the use of a special pair of goggles, which allow her to access a place that she refers to as the multiverse. Once in the multiverse she searches for whomever she has been paid to search for, and brings them back – these people are generally patients who are in a coma, or have something psychologically wrong with them.

Business hasn’t been good for Livvy, and she’s living in a cheap apartment, and surviving mainly on pancakes and syrup. Things start to get strange though when an ancient spirit being called a Kachina starts turning up in Livvy’s apartment and trying to communicate with her, and several trips to the middleworld (the place where she enters the multiverse) find the place surprisingly quiet and void of life.

Those aren’t the only strange occurrences though, as reports on the news begin to broadcast footage of other shamen spontaneously combusting, and a trip to the Netherworld reveals a giant ancient god (Tiamat) with the head and wings of an eagle, and the body of a lion, who seems to want to kill her.

Now Livvy thinks she’s found the solution. She thinks that if she can find a way to connect two pairs of goggles together, so that two shamen can go together into the netherworld, they might stand a chance against Tiamat. Unfortunately though, shamen aren’t supposed to even talk to each other as the public feel that they will work together against them, and so finding someone willing to work with her is going to be no small task on its own.

I enjoyed this book. Livvy is a really likeable character, and she always strives to help people, even when it seems that everybody is against her. She doesn’t give in to bullying, and doesn’t let their acts of prejudice against her get her down.

Although I didn’t know much about shamen before reading this book, this wasn’t a problem, and Livvy’s job was actually quite simple – she gets a call, she does the job, she gets paid. It actually reminded me a bit of Laurell K Hamilton’s Anita Blake Vampire Hunter (the earlier novels, before the multiple ‘love’ scenes.) In essence Livvy is a healer – she just does it in a different way to medical staff, which doesn’t please them and gets her extra grief.

The storyline in this book was interesting, and at times I really just couldn’t put it down. There were also several twists at the end that I really didn’t see coming.
Overall, a new and interesting idea, with a well-thought out plot.
7.5 out of 10.
(Book length: 3990 Kindle Locations)





Shaman, Friend, Enemy (Olivia Lawson, Techno-Shaman, #2)Shaman, Friend, Enemy by M. Terry Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(I was given this book for free on a read-to-review basis.)
The second book in the ‘Olivia Lawson Techno-Shaman’ Series.
Things have changed a lot for Olivia (Livvy) in the year since the end of the events in Shaman, Healer, Heretic. Now she’s living in a fancy condo, wearing fancy clothes, and catering to a very exclusive client list. She’s also got SK(her intercessor) and Min (friend who is also a shaman) working with her on a day-to-day basis, and got people queuing up to be blessed by the ‘lightning’ shaman.

Livvy is hiding a secret though. She’s been researching desperately, and spending extra time in the underworld, and now thinks she’s worked out exactly what she needs to do – to summon her mother from the dead that is! This is a big no-no, but Livvy desperately wants to speak to her so will try anything.

Other than this crazy idea, somebody else is causing a problem in the underworld, and this time they are aiming their wrath directly at Livvy, and she has no idea why. Dominique is angry at Livvy because she thinks that she should be the famous one, and is building forces to try and kill Livvy in the underworld. With Dominique’s team standing 12 strong, Livvy is totally outnumbered.

With the death of a client on her hands following one of Dominique’s attacks, and problems rising between Livvy and SK, can Livvy really defeat Dominique without SK’s help, and what the hell is she doing with her dead mother?

This book is great! Livvy is just so loveable. She’s a shaman, and now she’s even a famous shaman, but she’s still the same down-to-earth, flawed, caring girl she’s always been. Her worries and fears are different to the average persons, but it’s still easy to connect with her and understand where she’s coming from. Livvy really is the kind of person you’d like to be friends with, ‘cause you’d know that if you needed her she’d be there for you.

I also love the secondary characters in this book. Min is quietly supportive, which is just what Livvy needs, and SK is the perfect balance to Livvy sometimes extreme plans. I also love that the love interest in this book is not your usual 6ft tall, muscle bound, Greek-god-type like in so many other books.

I thought the storyline in this book was also great. Livvy has gone from fighting an ancient God to taking on one hell of a cheesed-off woman, which actually sets just the right tone in showing that Livvy is still only human (and what is I they say? Hell has no fury like a woman scorned?) I also liked the way that the story kept you hanging on to find out what was going on with Livvy’s mom, and what Dominique was going to try next. At times I really didn’t want to put this book down, especially when a bombshell of information got dropped on Livvy that she really wasn’t prepared for!

Overall, a great paranormal/fantasy book with a kick-ass lead female. Definitely worth a read, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next!
9 out of 10.
(Book length: 5746 kindle locations)


 Interview with Terry:

How did you come up with the idea of a techno-shaman?
The techno-shaman comes right out of the real world of shamans. In traditional societies, throughout the world and back in time, shamans sometimes reached their ecstatic state by using hallucinogens. I didn't want to advocate drug use, especially to young readers, so I took advantage of real technology and brought shamanism into a modern setting by having them use it.
Did it take a lot of research into shamanism to write the books?
Most definitely--and the research came first, as a result of my work in archeology and interest in ancient religions. There is a huge amount of information available and I've been looking into shamanism for about fifteen years.
What are your favourite things about Livvy?
In an era of kick-ass urban fantasy heroines with weapons of every variety, Livvy's strength comes from her compassion. Her calling as a healer and her desire to help people are what ultimately give her the courage to do what needs to be done.
When can we expect to hear from Livvy again?
Later this year! The first draft of the third novel is complete and rewrites are underway!
Other than your own what are you favourite books?
Everything Ursula K. Le Guin ever wrote and Dune.
Random question – what’s your favourite treat?
Popcorn. It's what's for breakfast.


I urge you to check out these books! You will not regret it! Epecially as they are currently selling at the bargain price of  $0.99 / 77p for the ebook version!



UK:

Smashwords:
http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/50729
http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/98379

B&N:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shaman-healer-heretic-m-terry-green/1029747997?ean=9780983292531
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shaman-friend-enemy-m-green/1106987591?ean=2940032825814

View all my reviews

5 comments:

  1. Hey Sarah, I just wanted to pop by and thank you for these very kind and thoughtful reviews! It was great fun answering your questions and I'm looking forward to getting the third book into your hands. So I guess I better get back to it! All the best and thanks again, Terry.

    ReplyDelete
  2. great reviews! both books sound wonderful. lovely interview too! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Sam, these books were so good and Terry was lovely :)

      Delete
  3. These books sound awesome! They are definitley going on my wishlist!
    :)

    ReplyDelete